Pregnancy

What’s happening with my baby’s skin

As you becaming a parent and first time mom, you are realising that your selfish life that you had thinking about yourself and your needs is over! As soon as you're looking into those eyes your world changes 180 degrees. All I do now is thinking about my baby. All I want to do is to make her safe and comfortable even if it means I have to sit on my bed where she's lying down all cozy and wait for my husband to get up at 5am for work so I can take his place. I love her so much that every small sound or scratch on her face makes me paranoid. As my husband told me already-I'm overreacting. But I can't help it.
When you care for a little human, all you want to do is to be a superhero for them. As I am a Deadpool, she took over my genes and I can proudly say that she's the best baby ever! No crying, not once. All she does is moan when she's hungry!

Like I said before…as a parent you are paranoid with every little thing. With me it was baby acne.
I noticed it as she was 3 weeks old. At the beginning it was just few red looking spots, nothing much, I thought it's from heat (it was really hot in London that time), but days passed and those spots spread all over her cheeks, and forehead. I got really scared.

This picture looks much better than in reality. It was horrible. But as I went to weight her I asked one of the midwifes and she said it's babys acne.

What is baby acne?
Hormones are believed to be mainly to blame. In the case of newborns, however, it’s not their own hormones that are probably prompting the pimple problems, but mom's — which are still circulating in baby's bloodstream. These maternal hormones stimulate baby's sluggish oil glands, causing pimples to pop up on the chin, forehead, eyelids and cheeks (and, sometimes, the head, neck, back and upper chest). What's more, the pores in a baby's skin are not yet fully developed, making them easy targets for infiltration by dirt and the blossoming of blemishes.

When I've heard about it, the weight fell from my heart. I thought it might be something I'm eating, or doing that causes those acne. At the moment thankfully they are gone and my beautiful baby girls skin is normal, so if you are breastfeeding and noticed red pimples on your baby's face-don't worry it's probably acne.

Leave a Reply

