UNPLANNED earlier maternity leave

18/05/2017 was my last day at work. I suppose to work for another week, but I can’t do it anymore. My work finally won. I feel a little bit disappointed but I can’t put my health and baby’s health at risk. 

I just can’t believe that I’m heavily pregnant and my work treats me like I’m not pregnant at all. What I do is a physical job and 12h shifts. Since I’m pregnant I’m trying to cut my walking and still I’ve managed to do 7-9km a day at work so you can imagine how much I was walking before!!!!

Not only I’ve decided after a long and hard day at work, sitting on a bed, tired and achy  that my last day will be tomorrow, the next day I’ve went through a shock by checking my bank account and finding out my work started to pay me maternity pay two weeks before ?!?!? My salary was £300 less than usual and I wasn’t expecting it especially on my last day at work. 

What my job does is paying you two weeks in advance at the start of your job and two weeks behind when you resign. But I had no idea they’re doing it when you go maternity leave. Words can’t describe how I was feeling and still do. 

Time, when you need money the most to support yourself and a new member of your family became big scare for me. Everything I’ve calculated and expected to save went to the bin and I’m actually scared how it’s going to be from now on. 

I’m looking for ideas and solutions to earn extra money after baby is born and I can’t see it happening at all. 

This is one of those struggles in U.K. you have to deal with. 

Unfortunately maternity leave in U.K. is not fantastic-I would even say it’s horrible. 

Statutory Maternity Pay (SMP) is paid for up to 39 weeks. You get:

90% of your average weekly earnings (before tax) for the first 6 weeks
£140.98 or 90% of your average weekly earnings (whichever is lower) for the next 33 weeks

SMP is paid in the same way as your wages (for example monthly or weekly). Tax and National Insurance will be deducted.

This country is actually the worst if it comes to maternity support. It’s way better in Poland (where I was born) and even Germany (where my sister lives). 

Of course you entitled for other benefit like Child Benefit which is £20 a week (joke)  and try others (if you’re not working and on benefits already), but if you are married and your husband is working (doesn’t matter if he pays for CSA or other expenses) you are not entitled to anything. 

3 thoughts on “UNPLANNED earlier maternity leave

  1. I hear you! Where I am there is only 18 weeks maternity leave and you get 70% of your salary. Unless you live in Scandinavia, maternity allowances are terrible. Imagine the US though where they get 2 weeks leave. Yes, 2 weeks to have a baby and then come back to work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 2 weeks is not enought, I can’t believe how pregnant women are treated. Not only got no money but less time off with the baby, and be expected to come back to work like nothing happened.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think this is why so many women don’t go back to work and then be exposed to financial challenges. It’s still a very patriarchal system overall.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

