baking · food · Meal prep · Pregnancy

Healthy banana bread 

Did I mention I love banana bread? 

As my pregnancy coming to an end I’ve decided to prepare myself with freezer friendly food I can take out and eat anytime after I give birth. I think it’s a brilliant idea to be prepared, especially when you got no head to things like food or wasching or cleaning for the first few weeks after birth. 

My first super easy and delicious recipe is banana bread. 


When I baked it first time on Sunday, my husband ate it all, leaving me a small peace haha.

So what you need for a delicious bread:

⅓ cup high quality vegetable oil ( I used avocado extra virgin oil )

½ cup honey or maple syrup

2 eggs

1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 2 ½ medium or 2 large bananas)

¼ cup milk of choice or water

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ teaspoon salt

1 ¾ cups white whole wheat flour or regular whole wheat flour

Optional: you can add whatever you like!!!!!


Instructions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit (165 degrees Celsius) and grease a 9×5-inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, beat the oil and honey together with a whisk. Add the eggs and beat well, then whisk in the mashed bananas and milk.

Add the baking soda, vanilla, salt and whisk to blend. 

Lastly, switch to a big spoon and stir in the flour, just until combined. If you’re adding any additional mix-ins, gently fold them in now.

Pour the batter into your greased loaf pan.

Bake for 55 to 60 minutes. Let the bread cool in the loaf pan for 10 minutes, then transfer it to a wire rack to cool for 20 minutes before slicing.

The truth is, you can make it healthy and very not healthy. I know one recipe that contains so much sugar that after one slice of it you feel sick haha, but because I will breastfeed, I wanted to find a healthy version of it and as soon as I baked this one I feel in love! Not only it’s healthier, it taste yummy as well. 

Enjoy!!!!

Leave a Reply

