Breech position and ECV

Yesterday was one of those days you can’t prepare for. I went to see my midwife with a though of talking about my birth plan and  asking few questions I had regarding a hospital and actual birth, but all of it went to the bin because as soon as she measured me and listened to the heart beat she said: THAT WILL CHANGE EVERYTHING!! when I asked what do you mean, she calmly replied that my baby is in a breech position. 

I know I’m only 36 weeks pregnant and there’s still time for a baby to turn, but she wasn’t that positive as I was. She told me to go to the hospital and see a doctor which will confirm the position and give me a option of turning the baby. 

Now, at the beginning I wasn’t negative about it, but as I was waiting in a hospital for about 3 hrs I looked up on how exactly that turning look like and I went for a shock!!!

If your baby remains in the breech position by late pregnancy, your doctor can try to turn her by hand. This procedure is called external cephalic version (ECV).

During ECV your obstetrician places firm but gentle pressure on your tummy to encourage your baby to turn a somersault in your womb (uterus). Your baby will then be head-down. ECV works for roughly half of the women who have it.

If you have no pregnancy complications and are having just one baby, you should be offered ECV. You can have ECV from 36 weeks of pregnancy up to when your labour is beginning.

The procedure will be carried out in hospital, where there is equipment to monitor your baby’s heartbeat and ultrasound to check your baby’s position. 

Your doctor will offer you medication to make the muscles of your womb relax. The medication won’t affect your baby. If you are rhesus negative, you will have an injection of anti-D.

You won’t need to have a general anaesthetic. The procedure may be a bit uncomfortable for you, but it shouldn’t harm you or your baby. ECV is considered to be a safe procedure and complications are uncommon. There will be a theatre nearby, just in case you need an emergency caesarean immediately afterwards. This could be because of bleeding or reduced fetal movements, and happens in about one in 200 ECVs. After the procedure, you’ll be able to return home.

If you have bleeding, abdominal pain, contractions or notice that your baby is moving less afterwards, you should phone your maternity unit.

Turning by ECV does increase your chances of having a vaginal birth, and if successful, reduces the need for a caesarean.

It is more likely to be successful if:

  • you’ve had a baby before
  • there is plenty of fluid around your baby
  • your baby is high up and has not yet engaged in your pelvis
  • a drug is used to relax the muscles of the womb

ECV should not be offered to you if:

  • You’re expecting twins or more. The exception is during the pushing stage of labour, if you’ve given birth to the first baby and your next baby needs to be turned to be born.
  • You’ve had vaginal bleeding in the past week.
  • Your womb is heart-shaped, rather than pear-shaped.
  • Your baby’s heart rate isn’t normal.
  • Your waters have broken.

If the first attempt at ECV is unsuccessful, your doctor may suggest trying again on another day, if he thinks it’s right for your pregnancy.

Bear in mind that even after a successful ECV, your baby may decide to turn round again! Less than five per cent of babies turn back to breech position. Your doctor may then recommend that you give birth by caesarean section. However, it may still be possible for you to give birth to your breech baby vaginally (source: Baby Centre).

When I saw it I said there is no way I will do it. I have an appointment next Friday with the doctor for a scan to confirm what position my baby is and then I will definitely tell them to book my c-section but I want a scan week before to double check if the baby is still breech or maybe she decided to move. 

I have to say, this week started really really bad. Not only the news about my baby position but also my tyre was punctured and I had no spear one!!!! It was so bad that I couldn’t even pump it up!!! I’ve spend 4 hours trying to look for 24 hrs tyre fitting company that could come to me and put a new tyre! So imagine a heavily pregnant woman with flat tyre, far away from home without a spare tyre!!!!! 


It’s only Tuesday and I’m already fed up with this week and I still got half of it to go!!!!

Please help me go through this…..

3 thoughts on “Breech position and ECV

  1. Oh my god!! That turning procedure does not sound like fun however you spin it. What did the doctor say about it?! Hoping that your week gets better from here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will see him next Friday when I’m 37 weeks and if the baby is still in breech position they will give me a choice to try and turn a baby(but I don’t want to) and book a c-section for 39 weeks. Thank you darling, I hope my bad luck ended yesterday xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

