Pregnancy

My hospital bag 

QUICK UPDATE: in my last post I had to rush to the hospital because I couldn’t feel my little girl kicking or moving for about two days. I thought I knew her pattern and what time and for what reason she was moving, she gave me the biggest shock surprise I could imagine. As I entered the hospital and explained the reason of me being there, they took me straight away. Check my urine sample and listened to the heart beat. My baby girl was fine, heart beat 156, which is very good and the doctor simply told me that sometimes baby can change a pattern, and because I was 24+2 weeks I’m not feeling baby movements all the time. I can’t explain exactly why it happened and why I couldn’t feel her for so long, but at least I’ve checked and made sure everything is ok. 

Back to today post. Hospital bag.


This is just an example of what you can put and prepare for your most important day. I already created my own list and slowly buying all necessary things. I’m only 25+3 weeks at the moment, but I like to feel prepared and ready. So this is my hospital bag list:

BAG FOR LABOUR (to be honest it’s just bag for me):

  • Maternity notes, birth plan,
  • Mobile phone, charger, iPad, headphones, camera
  • My tablets (thyroid)
  • Bags for dirty clothes
  • Socks, hairbands, easy to remove clothes (like PJ’s or tracksuit)
  • Drinks and food (as well as high in fibre to help digestion after birth)
  • Your favourite pillow(can be maternity pillow-helps with breastfeeding if you will)
  • Your makeup( in my case it’s my face cream, foundation, dark circle concealer, full coverage concealer(green), lip balm, 
  • Slippers, ear plugs
  • Nursing bras(at least 2)
  • Breast pads
  • Nipple cream
  • Disposable knickers( with this one is your own choice, you can take knickers that are comfortable, 100% cotton and you won’t miss them, I prefer disposable ones that I won’t be bothered with after)
  • Maternity sanitary pads( in my case I will take at least 2 packs, just in case)
  • Easy to open nightwear for breastfeeding 
  • Dark coloured towels( one for my hair, one for my body-if I will wash my hair) if not….
  • Dry shampoo
  • dressing-gown( if you want to walk around)
  • Toothbrush, toothpaste, deodorant, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, tummy butter(for stretch marks) I will take tourists size that you can get in any Boots or Superdrug, takes less space
  • Going home outfit(probably something comfortable like a loose dress, it will be summer after all)
  • Straws (why? Because when u in labour you still need to drink and it’s easier to do it with a straw)

Bag for my little girl:

  • Hooded baby towel
  • 2-3 sleep suits
  • Baby blanket
  • 2-3 cotton vests(but I might not need them because of the weather)
  • Nappies (one pack)
  • Bag of cotton wool for cleaning
  • Earbuds
  • Scratch mitts
  • Muslin cloths (at least 2)
  • Soft hat
  • Going home outfit
  • Bottles, teats and formula( just in case if my baby girl won’t like breastfeeding)
  • Car seat

Of course you can prepare a bag for your partner/husband/sister/mother/friend or at least tell them to prepare themselves. Thankfully I live 5 minutes away from my hospital so my husband can easily come back home, have a shower and eat. But just in case I will write down what I would pack in his bag:

  • Toothpaste and toothbrush 
  • Snacks and drinks(what he prefers)
  • Change of clothes
  • Pillow(really helpful for longer stay)
  • Coins and cash( in case of running out of snacks)
  • Mobile phone and charger(if you got a different phone)

I know it might seem a lots but I prefer to be prepared for any occasion than swear later hahahha.

I would love to hear some other advices regarding hospital bag.

Leave a Reply

