Pregnancy diet

Eat a healthy pregnancy diet. Simple as that. That’s how most of pregnancy books or websites telling you. 

“The foundation of a healthy pregnancy diet is the same as the average healthy diet: a balanced mix of lean protein and calcium, whole grains, a rainbow of fruits and vegetables and healthy fats (with usually a little more calories and nutrients to nourish baby”. 

There is a list of benefits that healthy eating gives you and your baby:

For baby: Helps improve the odds baby is born at a healthy weight, boosts brain development, descreases risk for certain birth defects (including neural tube defects like spina bifida) and, as a bonus, could result in better eating habits after birth as your baby grows to be a potentially picky eater.

For you: Decreases the odds you’ll experience some pregnancy complications (anemia, gestational diabetes and preeclampsia are less prevalent among women who eat well), makes your pregnancy more comfortable (a sensible diet can minimize morning sickness, fatigue, constipation and a host of other pregnancy symptoms), balance your emotions (good nutrition can help moderate mood swings), improve your odds of a timely labor and delivery (you’re less likely to go into preterm labor) and a speedier postpartum recovery (a well-nourished body bounces back faster and has less pounds to shed after delivery). 

Simple as that!!! But is it really?

It’s impossible to eat healthy everyday, and I am the perfect example of that! Don’t get me wrong…I am eating healthy(ish) but if it comes to certain cravings I just can’t resist. I’m talking about sweets 🍭. Yes!!! Don’t stress about it, and don’t feel guilty! Just because u had a chocolate or cake or ice cream does not put you in a naughty corner!!! 

Of course if your diet is purely based on fast foods or sweets, then shame on you, but once in a while, just to satisfy those sweet buds….

Fruit and vegetables in pregnancy

Eat plenty of fruit and vegetables because these provide vitamins and minerals, as well as fibre, which helps digestion and can help prevent constipation. From my own experience now I can tell you one thing-I got no constipation, in fact, my metabolism is the same as I wasn’t pregnant. The only incident with constipation was on my baby moon which I already mentioned, but apart from that….it’s perfect! My secret? I eat figs or fig rolls
Eat at least five portions of a variety of fruit and vegetables every day – these can be fresh, frozen, canned, dried or juiced. Always wash fresh fruit and vegetables carefully. I eat a lot of fruits-they’re sweet and they help me keep away from sweets. Bananas 🍌 , mandarins, pears 🍐 , pineapple 🍍 , apples 🍎 , kiwis 🥝 . They all are healthy, sweet and good for you. 

 Starchy foods (carbohydrates) in pregnancy 

They are an important source of energy, vitamins and fibre, and are satisfying without containing too many calories. They include bread, potatoes, breakfast cereals, rice, pasta, noodles, maize, millet, oats, sweet potatoes, yams and cornmeal.

These foods should make up just over a third of the food you eat. Choose wholegrain instead of white varieties, or potatoes with their skins on, when you can as they contain more fibre. Again good for constipation.

Protein in pregnancy

Eat some protein foods every day like: beans, pulses, fish, eggs, meat, poultry, nuts.

It is recommended to eat two portions of fish a week, but because I’m not a big fan of fish I eat once in a while. What im doing is taking omega-3 tablets everyday. I know it’s not the same as eating real fish, but I’m not really into it, especially when pregnant.

Dairy in pregnancy

Dairy foods such as milk, cheese, fromage frais and yoghurt are important in pregnancy, because they contain calcium and other nutrients that your baby needs.

If you prefer dairy alternatives, such as soya drinks and yoghurts, go for unsweetened, calcium-fortified versions. I love dairy 🥛, I love milk and I love cheese 🧀. Unfortunately while you pregnant u can’t eat all types of cheese which is a nightmare for me hahahaha. But until then I’m enjoying normal pasteurised milk and cheese.


So enjoy your food, but remember you’re not eating for two! Just because your pregnant doesn’t mean to eat twice as much! 

(Source:what to expect, nhs)

Leave a Reply

